The world cup 2026 and The host country

world cup 2026

The FIFA World Cup is a tournament in which the registered men’s national football teams of the world compete every four years. The current champion is Germany, who won their fourth title at the 2014 tournament in Brazil.

The arrangement plans of the world cup 2026

A cup of coffee

The 2026 FIFA World Cup will be the 22nd edition of the FIFA World Cup, a quadrennial international football tournament contested by the men’s national teams of the member associations of FIFA. Its qualification will start from March 2015 and end in November 2018 with USA/Canada/Mexico as hosts. Mexico has played host to two previous World Cups back in 1970 & 1986, both times successfully giving them an advantage if they were awarded the third chance along with Canada and another joint bid between CONCACAF members Canada and the USA.

The USA and the world cup 2026

A person holding a cup of coffee

The USA has also hosted a World Cup back in 1994 including Mexico as well. The 2026 tournament, like the 2014 and 2018 tournaments, will be contested by 32 teams and will require 1 host nation. The 2026 FIFA World Cup is to take place in April/May rather than June/July which would overlap with the NBA and NHL Playoffs while not conflicting with Major League Baseball (MLB).

Countries hosting the world cup 2026

The United States of America (including US protectorates such as Puerto Rico) & Mexico (UNESCO’s Masterpiece of the Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity for its 16th Century Mesoamerican ballgame courts), Canada (the Canadian Grand Prix F1 race is the world’s largest single-day annual sporting event in terms of ticket sales) and Morocco have expressed their interest to host the 2026 World Cup. The countries hold several common features such as:

All 3 football associations are members of CONCACAF, one of the 6 continental confederations recognized by FIFA and therefore eligible to enter the qualification stage and eventual selection as a host nation.

Despite holding only one match in FIFA World Cup history (a Round 1 match in 1998), Mexico has successfully hosted two FIFA events: the 1970 FIFA World Cup & the 1986 FIFA World Cup. Canada is yet to host a major event at senior men’s level but previously submitted an unsuccessful bid for the 2007 Women’s World Cup which was held in China while the USA has never hosted a World Cup match before but successfully hosted the 1994 FIFA World Cup with Mexico as well as failed to bid for the 2022 FIFA World Cup which is going to Qatar.

All 3 countries have all-weather track and field stadiums capable of hosting international standard football matches with high levels of security and all 3 countries host regular professional football finals on 5 continents: United States: NFL (American Football) – 120 teams across 16 leagues in both hemispheres including 4 teams in Canada, Mexico: Liga MX (Soccer) – 18 teams in 1 league, Morocco: GNF 1 (Soccer) – 16 teams in 1 league.

Currently, none of these countries host any major European or South American club finals and therefore will not face any scheduling conflicts. All 3 countries did at one stage in the distant past also host either Premier League, La Liga, Serie A or Ligue 1 matches but have since either lost their hosting rights or reduced to a few games per season in isolated cases. In contrast, all 3 countries regularly host NFL, MLB and NBA finals with the USA alone hosting up to 4 championships in 1 day (Super Bowl, Stanley Cup Finals [NHL], NBA Finals [NBA] & World Series [MLB]) while Canada hosts a minimum of 2-3 different championship finals every year in both codes of rugby football: 15s & 7s. Morocco has never hosted any club level finals but successfully hosted the 1981 & 1998 FIFA Club World Cups.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter