The 2010 world cup winner

2010 world cup winner

The world cup, the most anticipated and watched sporting event in the world is finally here. Starting from June 11th to July 11th, 64 games will be played between 32 teams for a month at venues across South Africa with millions around the world tuning in. Just like every 4 years since 1930 (barring 1942 and 1946), this competition brings together national teams from around the world to determine who will be crowned World Cup Champions.

History of 2010 world cup winner:

cup winner

The World Cup is the premier men’s association football competition. Held every four years, it involves 32 national teams competing over a month in the host nation. Since the tournament was first held in 1930, seven nations have lifted the trophy: Uruguay (three times), Italy (twice), Brazil (five times), Germany (four times), Argentina (twice), England, and France.

The current world cup champion is the Spain national team, who won the 2010 FIFA World Cup by defeating Netherlands 1-0 in extra time thanks to Andres Iniesta who scored an 89th-minute goal. The final game was played on the 11th of July at Soccer City Stadium in Johannesburg. The Spaniards won the game thanks to their captain Iker Casillas, who made two penalty shootout saves.

Otherworld cup winners are Brazil (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, and 2002), Italy (1934 and 1938) Germany (1974 and 1990) Argentina (1978 and 1986). France won it in 1998 while Uruguay took home the world cup in 1930, 1950, and at last in 1970.

The World Cup is the most viewed sporting event in the world with an estimated over 26 billion people tuning in for some or all matches of the 2006 FIFA World Cup held in Germany. Although a 4-year gap between championships might seem like a long time, it has been even longer since there has been a defending champion at a World Cup, meaning that the 2010 FIFA World Cup will be the first with a current champion.

The previous winner is Spain who beat the Netherlands in penalties in front of 80,000 people during international soccer’s biggest event. After going down 2-1 in the second half, Wesley Sneijder pulled the game back for the Dutch squad in stoppage time, but it wasn’t enough. The Netherlands dominated the first half of extra time, only to be thwarted by two brilliant Iker Casillas saves. Spain advances to face Germany in the semifinals on Wednesday at 2:30 p.m.

Brazil is the most successful team in history, winning the world cup 5 times. Italy and Germany with four titles and Uruguay, Argentina and England with two titles each are the only other teams who won it more than once.

2010 world cup winner prediction:

cup winner

The Netherlands might be the best team at the 2010 World Cup, but they won’t win it all in South Africa. Their attack is too reliant on Arjen Robben and Wesley Sneijder, and their defense is too vulnerable to set pieces. They will defeat Uruguay in the quarterfinals, but fall to either Spain or Portugal in the semis before losing again to Spain in a close third-place game. the potent midfield trio of Xavi, Andres Iniesta, and Cesc Fabregas. They will defeat Portugal in the quarterfinals and Italy or Germany (whoever wins the other quarterfinal) in a semifinal to make it back-to-back World Cup finals for Iker Casillas and company.

Spain’s defense is still trying to find its form, but Iker Casillas will be the difference in goal for the 2010 World Cup champion. David Villa and Fernando Torres may not click during this competition, but they should have more success than any other team against a suspect Portuguese back four.

Brazil is a strong favorite to win the 2010 world cup, expert predicts that Spain or Brazil will lift the trophy after the final on the 11th of July.

Brazil is not the favorite to win the world cup 2010 because they have only won it 5 times, whereas Spain has won it 2 times and other teams Germany Italy Argentina France also have won the world cup more than Brazil.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter